Beyond 'Shiny Object Syndrome': A Personal Reflection on Career Decisions in Software Development

Beyond 'Shiny Object Syndrome': A Personal Reflection on Career Decisions in Software Development

A few days ago, I tweeted that I was losing interest in building mobile apps. I've been working with a Bluetooth device for quite some time and grew weary of repeating the same tasks with Bluetooth and sensors.

THE BOOK THAT MADE ME RE-THINK MY DECISION

My tweet was less about genuine dislike and more about spotting something new and wanting to experiment with it. This precipitated a quick decision that I somewhat regretted after reading a part of "Atomic Habits" by James Clear.

He said :

This resonated deeply with me, arriving at the perfect moment when I was grappling with these feelings. It was the ideal time to reassess my choices and reflect.

Is everything working fine? Yes.

Am I good at what I'm doing? Yes.

Do I need to improve? Yes.

While I had the desire to build e-commerce and restaurant websites, I realized I could do that with apps.

My brother's advice

One of my brothers has consistently advised me to specialize in one area rather than hop from one to another. He diagnosed my tendency to be drawn to the next shiny new thing as "Shiny Object Syndrome."

Image

Whenever I spot something that appears promising, I abandon what I'm currently doing and make an impulsive leap into the new thing.

It took days of reflection, but here we are - this is my realization. I even recorded a video about wanting to switch, which I still plan to upload as part of my journey's documentation.

Now what?

Even though I'm still intrigued by web development, I plan to dedicate just a few hours a week to grasp the basics, and we'll see where it goes from there. Making a radical switch just to attract more freelance clients or similar opportunities isn't worth it. I need to focus on building my network and attracting clients organically.

If there were other compelling reasons, I would seriously consider the switch. But if that's the primary motive, I should re-think that.

I discuss my experiences and journey and provide tips on self-development, growth, and improvement as a Software Developer.

Make sure to check my youtube channel -> https://www.youtube.com/@lmbdev